Skip to content

wowzers!

August 15, 2005

So I just caught and released a giant cricket. It’s body was about an inch long, plus rear legs and antenae. IT WAS IN THE OFFICE! Sitting in the middle of the hallway. I’m amazed! It was so calm too. I wasn’t sure if it was alive, so I gently touched it with my shoe, and it flinched. I went and got a coffee mug and a piece of cardboard, carefully set the mug above it, and then slid the cardboard underneath. Carried it outside, and had to coax it off the cardboard onto the grass. This sucker was content to just sit around and look at me. Absolutely astounding.
Okay seriously, it was so big, that at first I mistook it for a small frog!
O.O
(I’ve somehow acquired a fear of bugs and am using incidents like this to get over it. YaY for giant crickets! I really didn’t know they grew that large…)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2005 2:24 pm

    Huh…
    That makes TWO giant crickets of DOOM i’ve seen in MI.
    What’s up with that?
    Huh. The only time i’ve ever seen them was jumping around gas station lights at night. HUGE buggers.
    but yeah.
    Yay for gaint bugs!

  2. August 16, 2005 7:44 am

    when picky was alive (my dearly departed firebelly toad) he enjoyed chasing around giant crickets that i would catch for him. we have a lot around here. (too bad it wasn’t a frog, that would’ve been groovy)
    i’m sorry to hear about your fear of bugs. they’re mostly harmless…or is that just earth? hrmmm

Leave a Reply

