Skip to content

I wish I could show you

July 19, 2005

I went for a bike ride today.
I’d just finished another upsetting ending to an otherwise fine book, and needed release. Luckily, I was kept alone, and slipped off on my bike instead of laughing it off with friends. I put on a brave face in front of my mother and got away before she could read enough body language to know that I was troubled, and made it out to freedom in such a cliche place: the open road.
I took Country Club to Tipton, to get out of town right quick, and just kept riding. The hills fell away, but troublesomely revealed houses where there were once fields and trees. I yelled at them to leave the corn and the maple alone and go away, and kept on riding. The houses, though fell away soon after the hills, and I was left with gently rolling corn and soy bean fields, with spotted flecks of forest. The sun was bright, the sky blue, and the humidity low: about perfect weather for a Michigan summer.
I wish you could feel it how I did.
I stopped by a corn field and walked in, leaving my bike, the road, and civilization behind. It was amazing how easy it would be to get lost in there; how quickly the road disappeared and I lost sense of where I was. Someday I’d like to get lost in a corn field.
There’s a soy bean field just south of Shephard with a tree in the middle of it. It looks like a perfect climbing tree, and I think that farmer rotates his soy beans with his corn crop. Some year when he’s growing corn and it’s tall enough to be over my head, I’d like to go out there and climb that tree.
The turn around point was at the top of a small rise. I decided I’d turn there before I climbed it, knowing I needed to be home soon. What a grand place to pause! It was just higher than the surrounding land, leaving the beauty of my home laid out in front of me in a full circle panoramic.
On my way home a horse had wandered in it’s paddock next to the road, so I stopped to feed it. We talked a bit, mostly about flies, but then she lost interest so I moved on.
I don’t know how to discribe it so that you can understand. I don’t know how to tell you how right this place feels, how magical it is in it’s absolute normalcy. I’d like to take you all out, one at a time, on a weekend afternoon and repeat this experience. I’d like to have words that aren’t borrowed from Sara to discribe it. Some of you more than others, I feel like you’ll never see it, that you’ll never appreciate any place the way I appreciate Michigan. I want to open your eyes somehow, take you away from concrete and people, and get lost in a corn field together. I just don’t think I’d know how, even if you were willing.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2005 11:15 pm

    HOOPA!!!~~~~
    YAY!
    Dude.
    two weeks.
    I’ll be there. ish.
    BUT DUDE.
    HELLA BLAU YEAH!
    (that means light blue or something)
    SPITZE! TOLL!
    SUPER!
    OK.
    Dude.
    Marie….
    WE LOVES YOU!!!!
    that is all.

  2. July 20, 2005 9:41 am

    I love Michigan, walking through it’s woods. Falling over and just laying out in the middle of a field and staring at the sky. Standing at the edge of beauty and peace, no sidewalks or cars. I love to travel far off the roads and paths, out into the world past “where the sidewalk ends”. I’ve only seen one place I thought came close to being as beautiful to me as Michigan is, and that was standing on a hill in Tennasee and looking out across miles of forests.

  3. July 20, 2005 10:03 am

    mmm thanks. nice to know someone else gets it.

  4. July 20, 2005 10:35 am

    what are you doing in ann arbor
    you should be in marquette

    whoa thats big

  5. July 20, 2005 10:45 am

    mmm yes Marquette…that would be a wonderful place to live. It’ll be nice to be done with school and live somewhere boony-ish like Marquette. Until then, though, I’m stuck with Ann Arbor.

  6. July 20, 2005 3:32 pm

    No you’re not! You can transfer out of Ann Arbor … Besides, NMU is like, 5000 less than UofM

  7. July 20, 2005 6:39 pm

    mmmm but see, I love my school and my friends and it’s a fantastic place to live…just temporarily. There’s no way in heck I’m leaving U of M before graduation.

  8. July 23, 2005 9:57 pm

    and uhh…U of M is 249853 times better academically than NMU

Leave a Reply

