Skip to content

bikes and beauty II: your favorite places

July 12, 2005

I’d like to hear from you. Katie’s post inspired me, you see. What’s the most beautiful place you have ever seen? Or top three. Or however many you wish. Describe them carefully and fully, if you’ve the time. By all means, take up as much space on my comments page as you’d like. I want to see them the way I see Camp Davis in Katie’s posts, and the say I see that perfect place I dreamed about once.
I’m going to write mine slowly over the next few days. I’ve got four or five that will probably get posted. Todays is my dream place, the perfect place.
I was going through the woods, dark deep maple woods with that beautiful maple green leaves. To the right it opened up into a hayfield with small yellow and purple flowers. They were iceland poppies, I believe. I almost missed the rest of it looking at those delicate flowers shining in the sun, when I happened to glance to my left. There in the wonderful dark cool of the woods was this beautiful lake. The land fell away into dirt cliffs like that bend in the creek by my old house, and at the bottom was a lake the most brilliant shade of blue. The sun reflected back in part of it, while other parts were cooled in the shade. The image is clear, even today months later. Blue doesn’t even begin to describe the color of this lake. The color of turquoise stones, of the brightest summer skies, of cyan press paint, of my little brothers eyes. It held the clarity of that beach on Lake Michigan, the power of the ocean waves at the beach we were at in Florida, and the calm of the ditch over the fence. It’s a color that I don’t believe exists outside of my dream, but it’s still there in my head, my perfect place.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2005 11:51 pm

    Swuga Woppa moot?!
    Yeah. Dude.
    So…yeah. I’ve been inspired by Katies post as well.
    Yeah. Wow. I want to be there…seriously. But, alas, i can not. Soooooo. yes! I shall post a responce to your “most beautiful places” in my livejournal.
    Yeah. w00t. DUDEEEEE!!!! yes.

  2. July 13, 2005 12:46 am

    Well, okay…um…Camp Greenwood is beautiful, but that’s more of a me kind of thing…although the sunset on North Ridge has never been matched.
    Even by the glory that is Hawaii, which would be my other answer. Hawaii is just…it’s so amazing. Oh, man, the stars/sunrise on top of that volcano on Maui…that was one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen, and I’m not a sunrise person.

  3. July 13, 2005 9:51 am

    As requested
    Alright, I wrote up blurbs on two real sights I’ve seen. I’ll write up the one imaginary one later, I guess.
    Nature’s Beauty

  4. July 13, 2005 12:19 pm

    Watching Casscades Falls at night time, listening to the water trickling down the falls. Seeing the colored lights change the water from blue to green, to yellow and orange. The colors flowing into one another, melting from one to another. Feeling the over spray from the fountains misting out softly, tickling your skin lightly.
    Other than that memory from ancient times… Sitting on the sand dunes and watching the sun set over Lake Michigan.

  5. July 13, 2005 3:28 pm

    Pictures instead of words

  6. July 13, 2005 6:19 pm

    Re: Pictures instead of words
    Oooooh. Not bad, girl, not bad.
    Where all are these photos from?

  7. July 14, 2005 2:25 pm

    Re: Pictures instead of words
    1) ft myers beach
    2)Marquette ( i go to NMU)
    3)Pictured rocks, its an hour away from Marquette

Leave a Reply

