Skip to content

i know some very absurd people

July 9, 2005

I just ran a proof to Kemner-Iott in Adrian. Guess how many cops I saw? Four on the way out, and six on the way back. Maybe seven. I lost track. It seems to be a county wide effort to turn Occidental into a speed trap. I saw cars from Adrian, Tecumseh, Hudson, Lenawee County, and the state. Also, a silver one that I didn’t catch the town for. Anyone got any ideas what town has silver cop cars? But yeah, I thought that was a rather insane density of cop cars. All in a mile or two stretch of road.

“It’s not just a daydream if you decide to make it your life.” – Train, a damn fine quote.

Hot Boy is back! I hadn’t seen him yet this week until just now!

I have an annoucement to make:
KATIE I MISS YOU!!!
That is all.
We now return to our regularly scheduled randomness.
*cheeky grin*

So the Tour today. I’m starting not to like McEwan…yeah. So there was the biggest climb yet, a cat 3 (still not hard), and a cat 4. Also, the route took us to a new country, finishing in Germany. This meant, of course, that the Germans were out for the glory today. After the usual jockying around, Wegmann got himself into a solo break at the 45km mark. He manage to stay away for 149 km, getting caught with only about 20km to go. The sprint teams got themselves organized, and it promised to be a fantastic finish as the roads were dry and the final straight was 1.4km long. Things went according to plan, with McEwan
winning. A freak crash occured in the middle of the peleton as they came in the final stretch, but no one was severly injured.
But yeah, for some reason I’m just not liking McEwan. I think it was his head-butt shenanigans the other day, but I didn’t want him to win. I’m back to rooting for Baden Cooke.
TOMORROW we start approching the mountains, with a cat 2 climb, the Col de la Schlucht, (how German is that name?) just before the finish.
I love this quote, from Bicycling.com:
Italy’s last great sprinter diva, Mario Cipollini

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2005 11:08 pm

    So, wait, is Lance Armstrong winning in general or what?
    And it took me a seriously long while to realize that you were talking about the Tour de France.

  2. July 9, 2005 5:20 am

    I think silver is either Tecumseh or Clinton.
    I can’t remember.
    But it’s one or the other.

Leave a Reply

