Skip to content

Adam’s got a hurricane again…

July 7, 2005

Josh had me sort through some old Wacker jobs today, chasing down a problem with their business cards. Now, remember that Wacker is a chemical company. Here’s the name one of the business cards I looked at: Zenon Hunter
How great is that?

A Tour tidbit before the real update. Tell me how this makes sense:
17:02 – Armstrong Safe In 32nd Place
Lance Armstrong was held up by the crash but did not come down. He finished in 19th place and will wear the yellow jersey again in stage seven.
Did I miss something and 32=19??
On to the Tour today. Looked to be another typical flat stage, right up ’til the end.
There was a breakaway featuring Kirsipuu, Gerosa, and Mengin. The route when through Mengin’s home town today, so he was out for the glory. As they closed in on the finish, Kirsipuu and Gerosa got caught up the final climb, leaving Mengin alone just out in front of the peleton. With 2k to go some of his teammates rode to the front of the pack and tried to slow it down, but team Rabobank wouldn’t go for it and renewed the chase around them. Vinokourov rode out in front and was about to catch Mengin when Mengin crashed! Carnage resulted as part of the field went down and more were stalled by the backup. Lorenzo Bernucci, an unknown riding in his first tour, slipped by Vinokourov and the crash to take the stage win!

We’re printing a walking map of Kerrytown, and the Aut bar is on it as a large square rainbow. I was pleased. :-D

Also, my new lj layout is quite sweet. I think I’m gonna put a rainbow in one corner though.

You may have heard Katie’s theory about boys whining when their sick…well I’ve got a shining star of an example of that. Check out this journal. Probably not the most PC thing I could post, considering where I know him from, but concerned individuals will note that I just find it amusing, and found it randomly from Adam’s lj. But yes, note how far and how dense the sick entries are…

So I was on AVEN for a while there…took lots of random assiociations in my head to get me there, but ended up looking up a couple of friends. ALMOST registered so that I could harass them…but realized I really don’t need ANOTHER online outlet to waste my time. But DUDE, they’ve got a store now! When did that happen? How awesome is that? (note to self…ask certain someone if I can post openly about that stuff here or whatever…)
Oh yeah, link:
AVEN!

Our final news story tonight: My oldest brother will be running from a hurricane again soon. Hurricane Dennis is headed for the Flordia panhandle, and as Adam put it, “you should see the lastest path from the national hurricane center, i think they drew it through my apartment complex”. He’ll probably evacuate tomorrow night, though the storm isn’t projected to make landfall in his area until Sunday. I think he’s bringing it with him though: last summer was a huge season for Atlantic hurricanes, and this one promises to be the same. It was calm before he went down there…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2005 7:51 pm

    Ah, that journal you mention, I see. I haven’t been there in forever.
    Lol…I don’t know that I’ve ever encountered that in person with him though.

  2. July 7, 2005 11:15 pm

    AVENilicious
    hey hey hey!
    Yep. Isn’t AVEN funner than a fun.
    or something.
    Uh….i forgot what i was going to say…but yeah. AVEN GOOD!
    And…well…josh. Good Luck. My college was flooded to beat hell back with francis and Jean.
    Hehehe. Have fun!

  3. July 7, 2005 11:36 pm

    My uncle’s name is Dennis. He lives in Florida.
    Coincidence? I think not.

  4. July 8, 2005 12:20 am

    Lance Armstrong is probably in 32nd overall and finished 19th in that particular stage. That would be my best guess to explain without using funky base arithmetic. But who writes jokes in base 13?

  5. July 8, 2005 12:20 am

    Certainly there is only one Dennis who lives in Florida.

  6. July 8, 2005 5:17 am

    Yeah I stop by occasionally when Adam links to it, but that’s it. I just couldn’t believe how whiney it was. Seems like some sort of new record…

  7. July 8, 2005 5:23 am

    that’s really an amusing combination. Where in Florida? Will he have to evacuate?

  8. July 8, 2005 5:24 am

    except he’s first overall. Hence my confusion…

Leave a Reply

