Skip to content

American Rainbows….

June 28, 2005

dude, so guess what? I GET TO LEARN HOW TO RUN THE DRILL TODAY! :-D Not any normal drill, mind you. This is a big industrial drill that we use for punching holes in jobs. I’ve got a GinSan proof to do that needs 3 holes punched. Dad’s gonna show me how to run the drill for this, and so that I know what to do when the job itself comes in. Dude, the drill! That means I’ll have *counts* 5 minor bindery machines that I can run totally on my own, and I could manage the 3 big ones probably also. I’m quite psyched!

I HAVE AN ANNOUCMENT TO MAKE
Which is kind of amusing, coming from one who spells worth a crap…BUT I have a grammar issue I’d like to say. “Your” is a possive: “it’s your life”, “your car just rolled into your lake”. “You’re” is a contraction; use it where you can substitute “you are”: “You’re a geek!” “You’re driving too fast.” An example of both: “You’re going to fail your exam.” Sorry, but this is a pet peeve of mine. Mom yelled at us once about it when we were kids writing fortune tellers…and haven’t been able to stand that mistake
since. SOOO yeah, please make an effort to get this one…or else I’ll just have to leave bunches of comments all over the place correcting it…

Amusingly enough, coming from me, I’m having a loss of faith. I’m pissed at God right now, if he exists for me to be pissed at…omnipotent omniscient omnipresent omnibenevolent. it doesn’t add up.


http://www.kennys.ie/MapsPrints/SeanTomkinsPhotos/

I cry, or rather want to, about all the wrong things:
Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame
With conquering limbs astride from land to land;
Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand
A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame
Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name
Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand
Glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command
The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame,
“Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!” cries she
With silent lips. “Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”
– by Emma Lazarus, New York City, 1883
It’s voices of hope, stories of overcoming impossible obstacles, tales of rising above persictuation, general hardship, that’s what makes me get emotional. I have to try to cry for your usual tear-jearker, though. This makes me an odd sort of sap, methinks. (There seems to be a trend towards admitting our innate sap-ness in the squad gang.) I think that’s why I get so upset over certain things though: I feel that everyone ought to be free, ought to have a symbol of liberty protecting him or her, and it’s almost a physical pain when I see people denied this that they are due.
Speaking of, how many of you are 2nd generation or less Americans? (If your grandparents were the most recent generation to live elsewhere, then you’re second) It’s weird to realize that I’m 1st generation on my dad’s side, and that most of my friends are 3rd or less. Sonya’s parents, Katie’s grampa, Yin himself,
we’ve got a lot of immigrants in the squad gang, but I don’t know that that is a normal thing… I dunno, it makes me think that there’s something to be said for the freshness of the American Dream.

An update: CHAMBER ROCKS! :-D And I didn’t get to drill today…but that’s okay ’cause CHAMBER ROCKS AND I got to talk to Melinda!
Think happy thoughts for Julie, all of you, if you can.
Finally: I’m going to fight Yin. He was online for two seconds, but right when I said hello he got offline…grr. Okay so it’s probably WiFi problems or something silly like that, but still…he got my hopes up! Tha booger!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2005 8:46 pm

    I get mad at God a lot. It’s the only thing that makes me think I believe in Him.

  2. June 29, 2005 12:09 am

    Egad!
    I missed chamber!
    I’m so sorry!

  3. June 29, 2005 5:12 am

    ’tis cool. Rehersal is TENTATIVELY next Tuesday…dunno. I’ll email you.

  4. June 29, 2005 1:08 pm

    BAND-OOO-GOH-SPON-ZOO-DOH!
    w00t! Great going!
    God: Yeah, been tackling this recently…i still have my core belifes…but i’m playing the “what if” game…and going on with that. Like What if god is all knowing and all controlling and stuff. what then.
    Of couse i don’t belive that. but…whatever. I’m trying to see different perspectives. I would go on…but i’m not.
    And about my americanism…
    *sheepishly* Well…i must say i’m different on this one.
    *gets out dad’s mormon “this is where you come from” book*
    Patrilinially, (son of son of son of etc): I am Alton Cameron son of Alton Clark son of Alton Erastus son of Jacob Maroni son of Erastus Jr. son of Erastus Willard son of Elisha Willard son of Jonathan son of Jonathan son of Abel son of Thomas Bingham…who came over in 1659.
    Yes….1659…So…male decendage…we’ve been here over a 100 years before the United States ever came into existance.
    General Ansestorage…women or men: The longest would be “FOREVER”. One of the erastus’ (i could check…but don’t want to) married a cherokee lady….and they’ve been here for a VERY LONG TIME.
    So…We’ve been here for a while.
    We came from wales.
    So…from where i left off…
    Son of Thomas of Yorkshire, son of Thomas of Sheffield, son of Thomas of bingham’s melcom, son of son of robert of melcombe, son of robert of melcombe, son of richard of melcombe, son of robert, son of richard of bingham’s melcom, son of robert of bingham’s melcom, son of richard of bingham’s melcom, son of robert of bingham’s mel, son of ralph of bingham’s melcom, son of ralph of bingham’s melcom, son of william bingham, son of william bingham….a few more unknown generations…son of William Bingham of Wales.
    w00t. I even got who they married.
    Take that.
    You know what i think you all should do…make a MATRILINIAL LIST!!!
    seriously.
    Daughter of daughter of…etc. THAT would be awesome.

  5. July 1, 2005 8:31 am

    Re: BAND-OOO-GOH-SPON-ZOO-DOH!
    DANG! You know a lot of generations!
    Hmm I’ll have to find my Fisher family geneology. It doesn’t go as far back, but traces all 13 Fisher children through the ages (prolly 7ish generations) down to today. It’s almost depressing to look through because it proves that I’m related to like half my town. Including our way hot way nice homecoming king. It’s a very distant relation – I’m still allowed to think he’s hot. But yeah while your list is long, mine is QUITE wide.
    As for God…yeah I have a lot of issues with it lately. I’m tempted to get into a discussion with Sara about some of my problems with it (she’s way religious) but she’s taken some flack about it lately so I want to be supportive not confrontationl. Perhaps another time.
    And matriliniality…do you have any idea how hard that would be to do? Some of my Fisher decendence is through women (hence the differnet last name) but that’s all local so it’s easier to trace. Once you get into traveling women that’s got to be darn near impossible to do!

Leave a Reply

