Skip to content

i’m beginning to see two disparate Americas

June 20, 2005

For those who thought that perhaps I was overreacting, that fundamentalist Christian morons (who pervert their religion as they hurt others) don’t matter because they are so far out so as to have no power, may I present Love in Action, a camp to fix gays. Also, here’s Zack, a boy going there, and here is an article about it.

I can’t seem to get a cut to work, so here’s the rest of my lj pointlessness.

whoops so I forgot that we had a sales meeting today. Came in totally unexpected to spend the first bit of the morning making hurried copies and conferring with Dad about samples. Now I just have to figure out if I’m supposed to ATTEND the meeting that I’ve set up…yeah. But hey, the first Harvard job ticket came in, so life is good anyway.

I’d like to point out the problem with not sleeping enough when I’m at home. While, from school, I’m more than used to running on not quite enough sleep, I have to drive in the morning here. Twenty minutes spent trying desperately to keep my eyes open so that I would stay on the road made me realize that I either need to sleep enough or have a cup of coffee when I wake up. Ah well, if the reason is good enough I don’t need to sleep, and I didn’t want to last night anyway.
The amusing thing? I got about six hours last night. SIX hours has got me this tired…I’m out of practice.

Verdict: I did attend the meeting. I actually had something to say, too! Just…not anything about sales. Rick got a phone call, so we paused for a few to wait for him, and Dad had me regale them with a story of what I did this weekend.
Oh wait, this weekend. I RODE A CAMEL! I FEED A RHINO! I PET THE PONIES! AAANNNDDD I GOT TO SEE FUN PEOPLE! :-D:-D:-D
Okay I’ll calm down now. O:-)

That’s all I had time to write at work, and I could write more now, but I don’t have the heart to.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2005 7:12 pm

    Yeah…Meg definitely showed me that blog a few days ago. We had fun ranting over it, though in truth, it makes me sick. Horribly sick. And horribly scared. I don’t want that to happen to anyone, especially not by the hands of those espousing Christianity.
    What scares me the most is that I’ve seen it so much I’ve run out of things to say about it.

  2. June 20, 2005 10:05 pm

    *anger rises and builds and swells*

  3. Anonymous permalink
    June 20, 2005 11:20 pm

    The ongoing war…
    Yeah.
    What i said. This…right now.
    It’s between ideologies.
    But…make no mistake….this war has been going for the past 300 years or more.
    Between power through knowledge and individuality….and power through brainwashing and emotions.
    But…keep in mind that prior to this…the religion side had one
    now…there is more questions.
    but.
    i don’t want the humanists to win.
    Because…I hate saying it…but most humanists are not my friends. I have been brainwashed…and belive in morals…and do unto others ethics.
    Most of us are very self centered…and plain old dicks.
    So…each side scares me in turn. It’s just that THEY are making a move. so…i’m on this side.
    I dunno
    I’m rambling.
    And i’m not saying YOU are self centered and have weak morals.
    It’s just generally…we’re not nice people.
    It’s hard to have a happy medium of honorable moral humanists.
    OH well
    Goodnight.

  4. June 21, 2005 5:12 am

    Re: The ongoing war…
    yeah most people suck. Actually, my realization was that a person is usually good, but people, a group of persons, people suck. When we get together we start losing sense. But I’m on the side of “love your neighbor as yourself”, or at least, “Don’t critize what you don’t understand” and don’t torture them either. That’s where I stand.

  5. June 21, 2005 5:16 am

    Yeah I’m often not sure what to say. I just feel that there is power in saying something, so that’s what I do. Seems like the best way to stop this sort of attitude is just to spread around consistantly the other view. That being that you don’t have to support it, but don’t persecute it.

  6. June 21, 2005 6:11 am

    Re: The ongoing war…
    Judge yourself
    but with so many interactions it’s damn hard.

Leave a Reply

