Skip to content

i have no idea – thoughts from work

May 31, 2005

“In the beginning Eru, the One, who in the Elvish tongue is named Iluvatar, made the Ainur of his thought; and they made a great Music before him. In this Music the World was begun; for Iluvatar made visible the song of the Ainur, and they beheld it as a light in the darkness. And many among them became enamoured of its beauty, and of its history which they saw beginning and unfolding as in a vision. Therefore Iluvatar gave to their vision Being, and set it amid the Void, and the Secret Fire was sent to burn at the heart of the World, and it was called Ea.”
Taken from The Valaquenta, appended to The Silmarillion, by J. R. R. Tolkien, being part of the story of the creation of Middle Earth.
Isn’t that wonderful? The world, created of music. Let’s be done with God and worship Iluvatar, because he seems more sensible. Think about it. We, and everything surrounding us, are walking breathing living
sounds incarnate as flesh. I think I prefer the idea of music to dust, as much fun as fairy dust can be…

Also, with as many personal phone calls as people get around here, I’m about to start encouraging you people to call me at work. Seriously, I’ve taken at least three seperate phone calls for Dave from his wife today. And that’s just today. I probably answer a dozen phone calls from her each week, and I’m not the only one that answers the phone. I think I’ve gotten one phone call for me the whole time I’ve been here…but then again, I don’t know how to do anything, so that might be why the phone is never for
me. At least when it rings at home it’s for me often.

*singing* It’s better than it was. It’s better than it was. I (should) complain very little because, it’s better than it was. *speaking again**or rather, typing, I suppose…* Yeah I read through some old entries from last summer, and I do need to keep in mind things like I haven’t lost an organ this summer, or anything major like that. So I suppose I’m doing alright, all things considered.

UMTRI – The U of M Transportation Research Institute. We do some printing for them and I fielding a call today from one of their employees. “Hi, this is Shekinah Errington from Um-Tree”. Yes. Not only that name, but she said “Um Tree”, not “U M T R I”, or something like that.

Are there abbreviations in Chinese?

http://postsecret.blogspot.com/
Found that off of Adam’s lj, of course. Found it rather interesting. ‘Twas nice to read secrets on there that sounded familiar. Makes me want to mail one in. You wanna know what’s stopping me? The secret that I really want to mail in seems too stupid/pointless/immature. The one that feels big enough? I don’t
have nearly as much desire to mail that. Perhaps I’ll mail them both. Perhaps neither. Or I may just post them in Adam’s lj with all the other anonymous posts of secrets…who knows. But yeah, check it out, ’cause it was a really neat study in…some sort of psychological mumbo jumbo…ask Adam for a nice finish to that sentence.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 31, 2005 8:17 pm

    interesting
    That site was really interesting Marie. I’m glad you posted it.
    ~Marcie

  2. May 31, 2005 10:14 pm

    PostSecret is based on a brilliant idea.
    Simple, elegant, powerful.
    *sigh* If I were creative enough to actually make my postcard, I’d be sorely tempted to mail one in.

  3. June 1, 2005 8:49 pm

    I started reading the Silmarillion, and couldn’t pay attention after the first little bit. I remember the part you quoted, and liked it, but .. well, I never finished the trilogy either. *sigh*

  4. June 2, 2005 5:28 am

    yeah I’m still debating doing mine. Usually in a situation like this I’d be like “Well, lets work on them together and help each other out”, but yeah…you’re not seeing mine, and you’re probably not gonna let me see yours so….yeah.
    *sends creative thoughts your way* just in case.

  5. June 2, 2005 5:30 am

    too bad that you didn’t finish Lord of the Rings. The end of Return of the King is, well, it makes me cry every time. It’s quite possibly the best finish to any book I’ve ever read, and I’ve read quite a few.
    I can understand not finishing Silmarillion, though. That one takes some doing…

Leave a Reply

