Skip to content

currently benching: 40lbs

April 11, 2005

I wear my pink cross country shirt to work out. A lot of you probably know it: the bright magenta pink ones with the spoof of the visa (or is it mastercard?) commericals on the back.
It’s very pink. Very. Pink. So therefore not me, right? But I consciously (how DO you spell that word?) chose it to work out in.
See, it’s a statment of two things: 1. I’m a runner, and 2, I’m female.
And those two things are really important to me, especially when I’m working out.
See, they are why I have no shame about how much I’m lifting. Two male friends recently implied to me that they didn’t really approve of how I up weights on the bench. See, 5lbs is a big difference, and that means using 2.5lb weights, one on either side, to up the weight. They seemed to think that this was not the most impressive way to up weight.
Thing is, I’m not out to be impressive. I’m a runner afterall, and female. I’m not SUPPOSED to be the strongest person at the gym. I have no shame about being weaker than a lot of the people there, but I’ve run further than most of them, I’m sure. And biked, for that matter. So what if I can’t lift as much or as fast as many of the guys there? I have nothing to prove to them.
I’ve nothing to prove to them because I’ve already proved it to myself. I’ve run past knowing how to stop, even knowing that I have work and homework afterwards. I don’t need to prove that I am strong or know how to deal with pain. I know already that pain doesn’t matter. There is no one in the world that can make me ashamed of how strong I am, because I’ve already seen my own weakness, and upon staring it straight in the face, owned up to it and moved on.
The guys there stare at me sometimes. I’m a gangly girl, too white to be believed, and so stringy it’s absurd to see me lifting anything. I’ve been told that I shouldn’t try for a six pack, ’cause that’s not attractive in a girl, or that I shouldn’t let my arms get too strong, because guys don’t like that. But you know, I don’t want to date those sorts of guys. There was a girl at workout tonight who was in fantastic shape, her body really well muscled. Not overly so, but still, damn fit. She looked beautiful. I see no problem with being strong. It kinda works for me.
So yes, I wear my pink shirt to workout, and I’m rather proud of this fact.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    April 11, 2005 7:34 pm

    w00t!
    YEAH!
    AMEN TO THAT, YO! Take that stupid male ego’s!
    HER LIFE IS HER OWN! AND SHE DON’T TAKE YO CRAP NO MORE!
    SO SHOVE IT WHERE THE SUN DON’T SHINE!
    THE STRENGTH OF WOMEN DOES NOT LIE IN HER MUSSCLES! IT LIES IN HER SOUL, HER HEART, AND THE GODDESS WITHIN HER!
    MEN ARE ABOUT MUSSELS BECAUSE THAT IS ALL THEY COULD EVER GET! EGO MANIACS ALL OF THEM!….wait a sec….i’m a guy…..huh. WELL, AT LEAST MOST OF THEM ARE! BECAUSE THEY DON’T RESPECT WOMEN BECAUSE IT IS BEYOND THEIR ABLITIES TO SEE BEYOND THEIR EGO AND INTO THE DEPTHS OF THEIR SOULS!!! or something.
    YEAH!
    MORE POWER TO YOU BABY!
    AND NEXT TIME THEY PUSH YOU AROUND LIKE THAT,
    FLY THE BIRD, AND WHILE THEY ARE DISTRACTED, HARVEST THE GRAPES!
    TAKE THAT, YOU EMPTY HEADED FOOD TROUGH WATERS!
    YOUR MOTHERS WERE GODDESS’ THAT FELL FROM GRACE AND YOUR FATHER, ON TOP OF BEING A SELF CONCEITED DICKHEAD, ALSO REAKED OF ELDERBERRIES!
    YOUR GENE PRIVLIGES HAVE BEEN REVOKED BY THE AWESOME POWER THAT IS THE WOMAN!
    STICK THAT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE IT!
    *did i go over the top on that one? I never can tell…*
    *My school’s all about this kind of stuff. And so am I. Women need to be empowered these days*
    SO KICK THEIR @$$!!!

  2. April 11, 2005 10:06 pm

    Now wait a second Marie.
    Pink doesn’t = female, and I should know that.
    Hell, I wear fishnet when I think it looks cute on me.
    Gender stereotypes are becoming obsolete and I’m part of a group that’s proof of that statement.
    Color doesn’t matter, just as long as it looks good.
    That being said, I have no qualms with the rest of your entry. :-D
    *mwah*
    ttyl

Leave a Reply

